Lucky Ali- I Just Saw Someone Just Like That (Dekha Hai Aise Bhi)

      Video Courtesy: http://www.youtube.com

Artist- Lucky Ali

Year-1998

Song- Dekha Hai Aise Bhi (I just saw someone just like that)

English Translation of Lyrics-

You are back….you have been here before… Haven’t you?

I left for my house, alone,

Only my friend is with me on this journey,

I did what i had to,

My belief in love is helping my journey.

I just saw someone just like that,

I have some determinations housed in my heart,

There are some untouched promises in some corner of the heart,

When i set out to chase those dreams, even nature is with me.

I just saw someone just like that,

I will continue my journey, making everyone around me smile,

We shall overcome years of our separation together,

Love stays with those who believe in it & is found by people who search or look for it.

I can be a thunder and be mellow at times with little understanding,

In the mirrors of love, is my honesty,

Someone’s telling me, I reached my house,

My desires are my prayers and I need to keep moving on.

I just saw someone just like that,

Glimpses of shadows of my love are still in my heart’s window,

My promises for her will remain even after my departure,

I would be one among the million who dream and search for the same.

Meaning of the Song: 

The music video starts and ends with the same lines – You havebeen here before, haven’t you? This hints at reincarnation which is a recurring theme in Lucky Ali’s videos (See O Sanam from his album Sunoh).

 Also, this song is from his album Sifar, which means zero, a circle… of life. The insert which came with the album says, Sifar – Containing nothing, it encircles everything. Without a beginning, without an end, it stretches from emptiness to infinity and back again.

The video does seem to be without a beginning & without an end; it is a journey continuum. Though the traveller seeks home (Ghar ko Main Nikla) and knowing that it is going to be a tough feat, for he finds that he is on his own and has no friend by his side, yet he is hopeful that he will get there because he believes in love and persevere to move forward – pyaar ko hi maan ke, chalte jaana…

That’s where Route 66 comes in. Back in the thirties, when America was struggling with severe dust storms that greatly damaged its ecology and agriculture, throwing the States in an economic depression, Route 66 came to America as a mother comes to succour her child. It connected the East America to the new West and opened up various employment possibilities. The long route sprouted on its side various eateries, gas stations, no tell motels (motels where your identity is not demanded and the rooms are rented on hourly basis) and various tourist traps. The highway also enabled the trucks to compete with rails because now the trucks could transport stuff from east to west faster. Route 66 brought along with it hope for a better future, and soon began to be called as the Mother Road.

The sign shown in the video is very popular on and off the route in America. It is a symbol for hope.

The pretty looking prostitute who is slapped and then shown being exploited at a motel, is shown with a suitcase moving on hopefully towards a brighter future, towards the end of the video. The neck-band that Lucky picks up at the Gypsy girl’s shack and wears in the video, is left again by him at the shop where the same Gypsy girl drops him, hinting at the idea that everything you take from this world is borrowed, and that on finishing one journey and while preparing for the other, it must be returned.

Dekha hai aise bhi, kisi ko aise hi… refers to Deja-Vu arising from rebirth and continuity of life cycle. The Red Indian in the video represents the eternal God, who watches over and after you. Red Indians were the first people to settle in America, everyone else who came after them are, in a sense, tourists. The eternal God was always there, before you and me, before any and every thing. We are tourists in this world, travelling at our ease, just as Lucky is travelling in America in the video.

P.S. The artwork for the cover of the album is worth a mention. Notice the circle at the tail of the letter ‘f’ in Sifar. That’s your zero right there.

Courtesy: http://www.quora.com

2 comments

Leave a Reply

